Dress Revisions

May 30, 2009 at 5:04 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been having some trouble with my thoughts about my dress.  Let me re-post a picture and I’ll outline my troubles:

dressHere are my thoughts:

  • I like the idea of using silver organza for the lower part of the skirt, so that the underskirt shows through.  However – I am not finding any silver organza that I like.  It just doesn’t drape right, or it’s too sparkly or too cheap looking.  
  • I am not very fond of the layer style of the skirt  – I don’t like the edging, but I can’t think of how to do it differently with the organza layers.  I like how it gets easier and easier to see through, but I just don’t think i like the gathers/edges.

I’m thinking of changing the skirt to be of the same material as the bodice, and then have it end some inches short to reveal the underskirt underneath – like colored tulle, only it wouldn’t flounce out because it wouldn’t be an actual petticoat.  I’m looking for the same line and flow as the original dress.    

I’m picturing it like this only the original length – and with silk instead of tulle.

wedskirt2

What do you think?

Entry filed under: Dress.

Invitations More Dress Revisions

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


